Riyad Mahrez Crowned 2016 African Player Of The Year

  • 0

Riyad Mahrez Crowned 2016 African Player Of The Year

Leicester City’s Algeria  forward  Riyad Mahrez on Thursday won the  2016  Glo-CAF African Player of the Year  award at the International  Conference Centre  in Abuja.

The BBC African Footballer of the Year 2016 award winner made  the final three-man shortlist alongside Borussia Dortmund’s Gabonese striker  Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang  and  Liverpool’s Senegalese  attacker Sadio Mane for the award ceremony sponsored by telecommunications  firm Globacom.




The three players will be representing their countries at the  2017  Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon.




Aubameyang, who won the award at the same venue last year after scoring 25  Bundesliga goals to end as the league’s second-top scorer behind  Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski last season, came second in the contest. Mane, who has been a revelation since arriving at Anfield from Southampton this summer  for around £30m, placed third.


Manchester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho picked up the Most Promising Talent award, while Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi was crowned Youth Player of the Year.


Contact us:

Email: info@surestakes.com
Tel: +234-8092960741
Whatsapp: +234-8092960741
Instagram: @surestakes

Follow us:

Sponsored ads

sport bet prediction tips picks