2011 Wimbledon Championship

  • 0

2011 Wimbledon Championship

Category : News

2011 Wimbledon Championship

On 20th June begins the third Grand Slam tournament of the year – Wimbledon. Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and widely regarded by some as the most prestigious, too. This year edition of the Wimbledon is 125th since the tournament was first held in 1877. The prize money for this year championship is £14,600,000, and the winners of the men’s and women’s singles tournament will receive cheques for £1,100,000.

The Wimbledon tennis championship is traditionally held on the tennis courts of All England Club, or with its full name All Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club. This tournament is the only Grand Slam that is played on grass courts. The warm-up tournaments on grass that precede Wimbledon are the tennis tournaments in Queens, London, and Hale, Germany for men, while women compete in the tennis tournaments in Birmingham and Eastbourne.

The tournament runs for a fortnight starting on 20th June Monday and ending 3rd July Sunday with the main event of the tournament the men’s singles final. The women’s singles final is held on 2nd July Saturday. Unlike the other Grand Slam tournaments Wimbledon has a rest day on the first Sunday of the tournament.

The players that are participating in the tournament should follow strict dress code. All the players should be dressed in white – from the head wear to the socks and shoes the predominant colour of their sport clothing should be white.

The main favourites for this tournament for women’s and men’s singles. Of course, the current world number one and defending champion of the tournament Rafael Nadal is again the top pretender for the title. But the Spaniard faces stiff opposition from Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer. Djokovic beat Nadal four times this year already in four finals. The Serbian won the Australian Open in January. Roger Federer has 6 titles from Wimbledon in his career and won here twice in the final against Nadal. Andy Murray is the big hope of the host nation that the winner of the tournament will be  from Great Britain once again. Since Fred Perry in 1936 there wasn’t a British champion.

Women’s single tournament is very hard to predict. Currently the top ranking female player is Caroline Wozniacki but she is yet to win a Grand Slam tournament reaching the final on one occasion in her career. The Williams sisters are the winners of the past 5 Wimbledon Tournaments. But they are both returning to the court after lengthy injuries. Vera Zvonareva and Maria Sharapova reached the final of the tournament. And Sharapova won the tournament in 2004. Kim Clijsters is another hot favourite. The Belgian has won 4 Grand Slam tournaments in her career but none of the titles are on grass courts.

Alfred Halfnight is a freelance writer who is interested in variety of different topics and has work experience as professional cleaner. He worked for Wimbledon cleaners offering variety offering variety of cleaning services such as end of tenancy cleaning Wimbledon.

Find More Championship Articles

Leave a Reply


Contact us:

Email: info@surestakes.com
Tel: +234-8092960741
Whatsapp: +234-8092960741
Instagram: @surestakes

Follow us:

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sponsored ads

sport bet prediction tips picks